Family, friends, fellow students, and faculty gathered to celebrate the 40 new inductees into the Legacy Christian Academy chapter of National Honor Society on Friday, March 29th.

The current NHS President David Pang officially called the meeting to order and explained the history of NHS, an organization formed in 1921 with the purpose of reinforcing the obligation of students who have been blessed with gifts and opportunities in leadership, scholarship, service, and character to conduct themselves honorably, generously, and responsibly. To be inducted into NHS, upper school students must complete at least 3 semesters with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5. After an extensive selection process, candidates who receive a majority vote from the Faculty Council are accepted for membership into the National Honor Society.

The applications for this incoming class were phenomenal.  We are so excited to welcome this new group of servant leaders to carry on the legacy and mission that our graduating seniors are leaving behind.

Melissa McKnelly & Kristin Stone

National Honor Society Advisers

Outgoing Vice President Robby Gay spoke on the tenet of scholarship: Proverbs 9:10 reminds us of the true source of knowledge and wisdom: “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.” We should continue to learn even when formal education has ended, for education ends only with the end of life.

The 2019 inductees included 33 Sophomores, 6 juniors, and 1 senior.

(Left to Right) Bottom row: Benji Brewer, Hannah Burt, Kate Pettijohn, Claire Russo, Mitchell Smith, Ale Rutenis, Caroline, Siddons, Landry Ehmer, Allison Bicknell  2nd row: Jesse Yohannan, Adam Lisle, Jenna-Marie Beisert, Avery Bradford, Jenna McGlasson, Isabele Rodman, Cole Creager, Jackson Redmon, Kendel Arnold, Julia Bryant  3rd row: Ava Bohling, Alexa Breedlove-Priestley, Livia Martinez, Max Lowery, Drew Davison, Tyler Wood, Alex Frye, Emma Stubbs, Reese Werden, Sydney York  Top row: Stephen Chambers, Hunter Hansing, Chris Sedlock, Ryan Clink, Tyler Heaton, Jonathan Darrell, Trenton Balcombe, Nathan Frater, Gabe Goodwin, Grayson Adams Not pictured: Ellis Davison

Following the induction, the 2018-2019 officers were installed:

Natasha Arevalo – President

Luke Goolsby – Vice President

Mike Cinclair – Secretary

E.J. Yohannan – Treasurer

Congratulations to all the newly inducted members and officers of the National Honor Society.

  • Natasha Arevalo and Landry Elhmer NHS Induction
    Landry Ehmer signs the book as she is inducted into NHS

Legacy Christian Academy is Frisco's preeminent Pre-K through 12 Christian school committed to educating students in a college preparatory environment balanced in academics, athletics, and fine arts–all within the context of a biblical worldview. For more information on Legacy, visit our admissions page.