Family, friends, fellow students and faculty gathered to celebrate the 57 new inductees into the Legacy Christian Academy chapter of National Honor Society on Tuesday, March 20th.

The current NHS President Hannah Dryden officially called the meeting to order and explained the history of NHS, an organization formed in 1921 with the purpose of making students “aware that a continued effort toward their studies is key to a successful career and future.” To be inducted into NHS, upper school students must complete at least 3 semesters with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5. The applicants then undergo a selection process in which they are evaluated on the four tenets of the organization: character, leadership, scholarship and service. Candidates who receive a majority vote from the Faculty Council are accepted for membership into the National Honor Society.



As the ceremony continued, the officers described each of the four principles and lit the respective candle to indicate its importance. The inductees then stood and repeated the pledge and one-by one the new members walked across the stage to receive their pin. The NHS pin is notable as it bears the keystone of the organization and reinforces the four pillars of character, service, leadership and scholarship. The students were then invited to sign the registry confirming their membership.

The members of the senior class who were inducted into NHS this year are: Adisyn Guetersloh, Christina Ingenito, Joseph Navarro, Preston Roddy Smith

New inductees from the junior class include: Arabella Blanc, Sam Clayton, Mary Kate Connor, Aidan Conom, Lauren Dean, Braxton Edrington, Rachel Edwards, Koby Ketcher, Jerry Lin, Austin Martinez, Patrick Priest, Ethan Spesard, Michael Walsh, Joshua Watson


The sophomore class welcomed the largest number of members with: Natasha Arevalo, Sydney Banks, Izabella Bateman, Kendall Bearden, Lauren Bingham, Mattison Bingham, Anna Brandon, Luke Cannaday, Michael Cinclair, Alexander Clark, Preston Cook, Peter Cooper, Emeline Crumley, Sophie Dryden, Gavin Edwards, Avery Ellis, Cristian Escribano, Katie Fizer, Lauren Fraley, Anthony Gleason, Luke Goolsby, Ainslee Gregg, Andrew Hamilton, Halle Hinton, Caroline Kellam, James Lee, Sarah-Anne Lee, Yutian Lei, Nathan Norris, Elizabeth Purvis, Layne Pyle, Maxwell Sanderlin, Ryan Schroeder, Andrea Slyman, Julia Smith, Olivia Taylor, Zakary Teigen, Jackson Todd, Elijah Yohannan

Following the introduction of the new NHS class, outgoing President Hannah Dryden installed the new group of officers and passed the torch with the following words of encouragement “The world today, as never before, needs faithful, efficient, and godly leaders, and your school is looking to you to lead its students.”

Headmaster Bill McGee offered his congratulations and invited the new inductees and guests to a reception. He closed with a prayer and invited new President David Pang to adjourn the meeting.

Legacy Christian Academy is Frisco's only Pre-K through 12 Christian school committed to educating students in a college preparatory environment balanced in academics, athletics, and fine arts–all within the context of a biblical worldview. For more information on Legacy, visit our admissions page.